Saturday, March 26, 2011


Here I sit in Tucson!!!  I just got back from an evil Chuckie swim with Sonja and Angela and am pretty exhausted yet quite content.

The last 3 weeks at home have been, well, tough.  Hubs has been traveling pretty much non-stop for all of March and I've been doing my best holding down the fort.  The girls and I did pretty good!  Everyone was fed, homework done, showered, dance class, gymnastics, playdates, bedtime stories, some laundry done and even folded, and then I would have approximately 20 minutes to relax before falling asleep on the couch.  Phew!  Absolutely no time for anything else but getting my workouts done, walking puppy, sometimes showering (but I considered that optional), working on schedules and working on taxes.

So when the opportunity to pack up my bike and head out of town for some coaching abuse with PIC, I jumped and bought the airplane ticket.  We got in late Thursday night, and Friday morning built up our bikes and headed to Mt. Lemmon.  Ahhhhh, climbing bliss.  The air was a bit chilly so we only went up to Windy Point, back down, and then 2 times to mile 5 and back.  Afterwards, a nice jog and my favorite part.....a trip to Trader Joe's!

Today?  Breakfast, evil swim, second breakfast.  Some down time to blog (WOW!)  Later, we'll head to the track for a MAF test and then a spin.  Bliss!

Tomorrow?  More of the same.  Hubs is doing a great job taking care of the family plus paybacks are hell  and the puppy.  I'll be back in no time!

Happy Training!

Monday, March 7, 2011


I've seen this on a few blogs so I thought I would join the are some ABC's about me!

A~Age: 42

B~ Bed Size: King - pretty much fits the entire family.

C~Chore you hate: Folding laundry. Hate it more than doing laundry.

D~Dogs: Kona!  She's our new rescue puppy, about 7 months old.

E~Essential Start your Day Item: Coffee.  Coffee.  Coffee. Did I mention coffee?

F~Favorite Color: Purple. Pink. Blue.  Clearly hard for me to pick just one fabulous color.

G~Gold or Silver: I don't wear much jewelry but I suppose silver.

H~Height: 5'4".  Really.  Ok fine, but way closer to 5'4" than 5'3.5".

I~Instruments you play: Nothing currently unless my daughter's recorder counts.  Used to play flute and baritone sax but gave up music to pursue swimming.  Good choice?

J~Job Title: Mom and part-time Coach.

K~Kids: Isabelle 8, and Charlotte 5.

L~Live: A-town, Colorado

M~Mom’s Name: Bernice

N~Nicknames: FordyFord. Yostie.  PIC.

O~Overnight Hospital Stays: For my babies and a severe kidney infection when I was a kid.  They almost had to take a kidney!

P~Pet Peeve: Chronic lateness.  If you say meet at at 10 not 10:15!  And don't do it over and over and over again.

Q~Quote from a Movie: "I'm your huckleberry" Tombstone

R~Right or Left Handed:  Lefty.

S~Siblings: Sister, Nicole, 3 years younger than me.

T~Time you wake up: 6:30.  Sometimes I can sleep all the way to 7:30 but not as much as I would like to:)

U~Underwear: Yes.

V~Vegetable you Dislike: Shrooms, beets (just found that out on Friday), are olives veggies?

W~What Makes You Late: Usually my husband and sometimes my kids.  I HATE being late and I really dislike it when someone else makes me late. See P above.

X~X-rays You’ve had Done: My dad's a radiologist so it's kind of an unfair question....where to start: wrist, ankle (several times), arm x 2, another wrist, thyroid, eye, elbow, knee, foot etc. etc.

Y~Yummy Food you Make: I am great with recipes so if the recipe is good, what I make is good!  Lately, I've tried just throwing some food and veg and spices together and surprisingly it's been edible and quite tasty!

Z~Zoo Animal Favorite: Penguins